CPHSAA-USA Convention 2023 Annual Benefits & Dinner Ball

The Amherst House 7251 Elden Brook Dr. Columbia, MD 21046

Saturday, August 12, 2023 7:00 PM – 1:00 AM

Opening Prayer-----Mrs. Elizabeth Beyan Chaplain, CPHSAA-USA

Welcome Remarks-----Mrs. Susan Karto Chair-Convention Planning Committee

Special Guest-----Mrs. Cecelia Cooper

Lighting of Memorial Candle-----Mr. Homa Allison Secretary, CPHSAA-USA

Music-----DJ Massaquoi

DINNER And Slide Show

Introduction of Guest Speaker--Mrs. Ophelia Yarsiah Vice President, CPHSAA-USA

Guest Speaker-----Hon. Wala Blegay Vice Chair, Prince George County Legislative Branch, District 6, Largo, MD

Music-----DJ Massaquoi

Fundraising Activities-----Ms. Faith Lawrence Chair, Fundraising Committee, CPHSAA-USA

Honoring Presentation-----Mr. Tarley Nyema Chair, Board of Directors, CPHSAA-USA

Vote of Thanks-----Dr. A. Senyon Tatus President, CPHSAA-USA

Grand March Led By Mr. Fred Jerome Wilson

DANCE ------ DANCE ----- DANCE

OUR HONOREES

Ms. Sophia E. Williams Mr. Benjamin Tarway Ms. Claudette Aryeetey Mr. Caesar Gardiner Mr. Fred Jarome Wilson Mrs. Sarai Scott Savage Mrs. Patricia Wallace Farley Mrs. Ruth Nyema George Ms. Gertrude D. Freeman Ms. Bunchie Bright

2022 CONVENTION DELIGATES



CURRENT OFFICERS

Dr. A. Senyon Tatus Mss. Ophelia Yarsiah Mr. Homa Allison Ms. Jannie E. Bright Mrs. Elfrieda Gueh Mrs. Elizabeth Bayen Ms. Pamelia Thomas President Vice President Secretary Treasurer Financial Sec. Chaplain Parliamentarian

COMMITTEES CHAIRS

Mr. B. Tarley Nyema Ms. Faith Lawrence Dr. Edwin Freeman Mrs. Susan Karto Mr. Abrom Cooper Board of Directors Fundraising Project Planning Convention Planning Ad Hoc

Liberia National Anthem

All Hail Liberia hail, All hail All hail Liberia hail, All hail This glorious land of liberty, Shall long be ours Though new her name, Green be her fame And mighty be her powers Though new her name, Green be her fame And mighty be her powers And mighty be her powers, And mighty be her powers

In joy and gladness, With our hearts united We'll shout the freedom of a race benighted Long live Liberia, happy land A home of glorious liberty, By God's command A home of glorious liberty, By God's command (2X)

All hail Liberia hail, All hail All hail Liberia hail, All hail In union strong, success is sure, we cannot fail With God above, our rights to prove We will o'er all prevail With God above, our rights to prove We will o'er all prevail We will o'er all prevail, We will o'er all prevail.

With heart and hand, our country's cause defending We'll meet the foe, with valor unpretending

Long live Liberia, happy land

A home of glorious liberty, By God's command (2X)

Cape Palmas High School Ode

CPHS, rise up to the sky Spread o'er this far Western world Thy bright radiance divine O'er our joyous country reign Thus we carol to the sky Grateful rapture they be thine May thy fame for ever dwell Through eternal ages endure CPHS, Alma Mater true Let thy toiling hands of care Consecrate our every deed Lead us in the path of right Give thy sons and daughters true Such strong minds and ready hands Be it work a studious zeal Through eternal ages endure. Rahrah, Rahrah, rah-rah-rah Who are, Who are, Who are we We are, We are, We are they (Boys whistle) (Girls hum) CPHS, CPHS, RAH



DJ: Mr. Momo Massaaquoi

Acknowledgements We Extend Our Thanks and Appreciation to The 2023 Convention Planning Committee Mrs. Susan Collins-Karto – Chair Mrs. Faith Lawrence – Co-Chair Mr. Abrom P. Cooper Ms. Jannie E. Bright Mr. Sam Johns Ms. J. Bledii Chea Ms. Barbara Freeman Mrs. Ophelia Gibson Yarsiah - Advisor Dr. A. Senyon Tatus – President & Ex-Officio

Special Thanks To Our Guest Speaker Honorable Wala Blegay Vice Chair, Prince George County Legislative Branch, District 6, Largo, MD Our Sincere Appreciation To Mrs. Susan Collins-Karto Chair of the 2023 Convention

Our Kudos To The Friends Of CPHSAA

and all those who helped to make this 24th Anniversary Convention a success.

Gratitude To Our Past Presidents For Their Individual Support & Contributions.

Mr. Eli Tubman Mr. Jenkins E. Cooper Dr. Nazarene Brewer Tubman Mrs. Allenett Yancy-Porcher Mr. William N. Landford Dr. T. Edwin Freeman Rev. Henry Kla-Molley Muhlenburg





Dr. A. Senyon Tatus President, CPHSAA-USA, INC.

CAPE PALMAS HIGH SCHOOL ALUMNI ASSOCIATION - USA, INC.



24[™] ANNUAL NATIONAL CONVENTION

AUGUST 11 -13, 2023 COLUMBIA, MARYLAND USA

THEME: "BRIDGING THE EDUCATION GAP BETWEEN CPHS STUDENTS; NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND"

> MASTER OF CEREMONY: MR. JERRY YOUTY TARWAY